Day 25 of my 100 Day Journaling Challenge… Life needs the same 3 things a great form needs!


Over the past 25 days I have had the opportunity to spend time considering what the practice of martial arts has taught me about life.  It has been an interesting exploration and path of discovery, I look forward to the next 75 days!

Today I came across an article written for Black Belt Magazine, a publication I read on a regular basis.  This particular article was published online and can be seen here:

Inside Japanese Martial Arts: The True Role of Kata in Karate

Written by Dave Lowery, a gentleman of the highest caliber who practices martial arts for self-defense purposes and speaks the truth about all things violent.  I have found his thoughts on self-defense, violence and modern martial arts training very valuable in my journey through the arts.  In his latest article he talks about Japanese Kata, forms, as practiced in Traditional Karate.  His thoughts are completely applicable to any martial art that employs kata or forms as a training tool.  He also makes some great points that I feel apply to life and how we live it successfully.

  • Structural Integrity

I am not going to rehash Mr. Lowery’s thougths on the martial arts application of structural integrity.  Instead, I want to look at the concept in terms of how we live.

He notes that from the outside most kata look like an “arbitrary arrangement of techniques”, but that it is so much more than arbitrary.  If someone were to take a close look at your life and write down every action you take and every word you speak for a week would those notes appear to be “an arbitrary arrangement of thoughts and actions”?

To be successful we need to arrange our lives like a well designed kata.  Does it have structure?  Are we making choices in actions and words that fit a particular purpose, our “success structure”?  When we apply ourselves to an activity are we doing so with integrity?  Are we giving each action or word proper thought and effort?  If you look at the “notes of your life” you should be able to see the “success structure” and that your path towards that goal was paved with the integrity to always do the right thing at the right time with full attention and effort.

  • Coherence

So, you have structure to your life.  Excellent!  Now, lets look at the Shin, or “mind,” that your life is guided by.  To reach any goal you must coordinate your effort.  Each choice and action needs to have a coherence, they must work in harmony to take you step by step towards your goal.

When our lives show this coherence, or flow, we see greater success.

  • Intent

In poorly constructed kata, the performer looks like a little kid in a big toy store, his attention in a dervish-like spin. In a good kata, there’s the sense that the practitioner is controlling time and space, setting the pace. This is an expression of the focus, the intent of the kata.

Which are you?  Are you running endlessly from one activity to another or do others look to you for stability and structure?  Are you focused or frantic?  By creating intent, using it as your focus and adhering to the structure it provides give you control of your life and its path.

Structural integrity. Coherence. Intent. These three pillars support a kata.  They also serve as the pillars of a successful life!

Mr. Myers

6 thoughts on “Day 25 of my 100 Day Journaling Challenge… Life needs the same 3 things a great form needs!

  1. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog
    has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself
    or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know
    any techniques to help prevent content from being stolen? I’d truly appreciate it.

    Like

    • In all honesty, I do not worry about plagiarism or copyright issues. I write about things I want others to know. If another writer decides the idea is a good one and the reasoning is sound I am flattered. I am a student of many teachers and I can imagine that some of what I share with others might be considered “copied”, it is difficult to write as much as I do without the possibility of my ideas overlapping the ideas of others. I try my best to attribute content where appropriate and hope that others do the same.

      I guess my attitude comes from my time and experience as a martial artist and instructor. I know what I teach my students is really a “copy” of that which I have been taught over the years. If someone learns from what I write and then passes it on, then my ultimate goal of educating and improving the world has been accomplished.

      Like

  2. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills
    and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

    Like

    • I deeply appreciate your kind words!

      A few years ago I gave up on watching the nightly news and reading newspapers because they only emphasized the negative in the world. I have often pushed back against the negativity in social media as well. I believe if we truly want to change our world we need to become a source of positive reinforcement. I write here and for a number of other outlets such as Examiner.com (Brian Myers: National Martial Arts Examiner, Indianapolis Martial Arts Examiner and Indianapolis Bully Prevention Examiner) and I always make every effort to keep my writing positive and uplifting.

      Like

  3. This design is incredible! You definitely know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

    Like

  4. Its such as you learn my mind! You appear to grasp a lot approximately this, like you wrote the
    guide in it or something. I believe that you just could do with
    a few p.c. to drive the message house a little bit,
    but instead of that, this is wonderful blog. An excellent read.
    I will definitely be back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

